provided for separately under the Saskatchewan Hospitalization Act. The plan is financed by a fee of \$15 per capita with a family maximum of \$35, a general property tax, and a provincial per capita grant for general medical care and public health services, and a provincial contribution of one-half the cost of radiological and dental services.

Medical, hospital, dental, optical and part drug services are provided at public expense to old age and blind pensioners and their dependants and to beneficiaries of mothers' allowances.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health was established in 1919 and was given the authority and responsibility for administering all the statutes of the Province relating to health. The Public Health Act passed in 1907, established the Provincial Board of Health that now consists of three members, the Provincial Medical Officer of Health, the Provincial Sanitary Engineer, and the Provincial Bacteriologist.

The Department consists of the following 14 divisions: Communicable Disease, Public Health Education, Hospital and Medical Services, Laboratory, Public Health Nursing, Municipal Hospitals, Social Hygiene, Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation, Cancer Services, Mental Health, Tuberculosis Control, Entomology, Vital Statistics, Nutrition Services.

Alberta administers its public health program for urban and for rural areas through health units and 18 Rural Health Districts; the program includes infant and child welfare clinics and pre- and post-natal instruction. In isolated areas District Nursing Units are set up; they supply first-aid and obstetrical services and are equipped with drugs and medical and surgical supplies.

Clinics operated by the Department provide the following free services to the general public: diagnosis and treatment, including drugs, for venereal disease; medical examination for cancer; mental guidance and psychiatric examinations; physical and X-ray examinations and tuberculin tests for tuberculosis at stationary and travelling clinics and mobile X-ray units; post-discharge treatment of poliomyelitis cases. The Communicable Diseases Division supplies biological products for preventive work. The services of the Provincial Laboratory are available to all doctors, Boards of Health and approved hospitals. The Laboratory distributes sera and biological products.

The Department pays for hospitalization for a period not exceeding 14 days on behalf of cancer patients admitted to hospital for diagnostic treatment on the order of the cancer clinics. Surgical, X-ray or radium treatment is also available if recommended by the clinic. Mental care in institutions is supervised by the Department of Public Health and patients unable to pay are treated at public expense. Hospitalization in provincial tuberculosis sanatoria is provided without charge for all resident tuberculosis patients. Out-patient pneumothorax services are also available.

The Province has a complete medical care program, including hospitalization, dental care and eye-glasses for old age and blind pensioners, recipients of mothers' allowances and the dependants of these groups. The Department also provides for all residents suffering from the after-effects of poliomyelitis free medical, surgical and hospital care and rehabilitation services. An amendment in 1949 to the Bureau of Public Welfare Act made provision for the hospital and medical care